What not to get an architect for Valentine’s Day

A few weeks ago I received an email from the AIA Store with a list of great Valentine’s Day gift ideas, all available through their store.  Cute idea, but do I really want my Valentine to be buying my gift from an architecture store?  Chocolate, jewelry, flowers, t-squares… one of these things is not like the other.

One of the gift ideas from the AIA is a decal:

Architect_Decal

You know, so you can display your profession on the rear window of your car, along with your dog and all your kids and their activities.  Do me a favor- please don’t get this as a gift for an anyone for Valentine’s Day or any other occasion.  I won’t tell you what my friend calls these decals, because it’s not very PC, but let’s just say that chocolate is the preferred gift.

As for our house, here’s what we enjoyed for dinner tonight:

Seared scallops with fresh pasta and homemade tomato-basil sauceDinner

(sorry for the iphone-quality photo)

You’ll find Dr. Jay and I eating this meal every Valentine’s Day.  I think this is the 7th year in a row that we’ve made it.  It’s simple and delicious and, for us, much better than going out for the evening.  And thankfully, instead of a decal of a female architect with a roll of drawings, Dr. Jay surprised me with a beautiful necklace (designed by an architect that I posted about).  What a guy.  I love that man.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you all!

3 thoughts on “What not to get an architect for Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

