Curbly obsession

I have a new internet obsession:  Curbly.  Have you been there?  It’s a site devoted to DIY, with tutorials on everything from crafts to home decor to easy construction solutions.  This morning I made an envelope pillow with simple-to-follow instructions from Curbly:

Pillow

This is a terrible depiction of the pillow, but this is what happens when I wait until 10 o’clock at night to take a photo.  There is no natural light and I am too lazy to use the nice camera and I resort to my phone.  Sorry about that, but trust me, I’m proud of the first ever pillow cover I sewed today.  It’s actually a pillow for our future baby girl’s room, and the fabric is a vintage table cloth my mother-in-law bought at a yard sale.

Here are a few of the other tutorials I’ve found recently and put on my “I can do this” Pinterest board:

plow-hearth-outdoor-sideboard_large

Fold Down side board (side note, just 10 minutes after I had pinned this, I had 16 Repins and Likes.  Pinterest just blows me away sometimes)

Leather Strap cabinet pulls

LeatherCabPulls

These are just so unusual and I could see them on a cabinet in a room where there isn’t much competing furniture, like on a media console.  Or to make something from Ikea look a little less like it came from Ikea.

And here’s something so cool, making use of an old dresser or thrift store find:

Succulent Planter

What a gorgeous way to display succulents, or any plants for that matter. 

And last, but not least, because I am overtaken by Easter this year:

Easter Egg Garland made from paint chips!

EasterEggGarland

I think better get myself over to Ace Hardware this week and find some easter-iffic paint chips!

Curbly has everything from DIY tutorials to tips on cleaning, home maintenance, fun craft projects and inspiring reader Before and After projects.  Check it out if you have a moment.  I plan on hanging out there a lot!

7 thoughts on “Curbly obsession

  1. OOooh, how timely that you should have a link to envelope pillow instructions. I ambitiously promised to make one for friend before remembering how scary / hard sewing projects are. These instructions makes it really easy.

  2. At a bridal shower, I saw a garland made out of paint chips cut into triangle shapes, all in shades of pink. Very cute. I’m sure its all over Pinterest. I haven’t gotten around to it yet, but one of these days I’m sure you’ll find me up at 4am pouring over everything I’ve been missing!

Leave a Reply

