Valentines for Kids

Friday is Valentine’s Day, did you hear?  One of the many things my kids and I love to do together is read (I’m sure this is true for many families) so I like to get them each a book for Valentine’s day.  I’ll take any excuse to look at children’s literature and pick out books for them, and Valentine’s day falls soon after the Caldecott Awards are announced, so it’s a great time to see what’s new and wonderful in the world of books. 

Here are a few books I’ve been looking at lately, and two of them should arrive soon to be wrapped up for Friday morning:

Iggy Peck, Architect by Andrea Beatty

Image 

I’ve heard about this book from several moms (I guess they know I might have a particular interest in it) and couldn’t wait for an excuse to buy it.  It’s about a child who loves structures and buildings, though he gets a little grief from his teacher about loving architecture.  All the reviews claim it’s funny, irreverent, and well-drawn, all things that we love in this house.  I can’t wait to read it with the kids.

The Three Little Pigs, An Architectural Tale by Steve Guarnaccia

Image

I found this book when searching for Iggy Peck, Architect.  If you look at the pigs on the front, one is dressed like Philip Johnson, one like Frank Gehry, and one as Frank Lloyd Wright.  I’m sure you can tell where the story might lead.  I think Sawyer is going to love this book!

Rosie Revere, Engineer  by Andrea Beatty

Image

This book is by the same author as Iggy Peck, Architect and just looks so darn awesome.  As the first page states, “This is the story of Rosie Revere, who dreamed of becoming a great engineer”.  Of course I love the premise of this.  Dr. Jay and I are all for empowering girls to think more about creating and doing.  Instead of pretending to be a princess in a tower, I’d like Sawyer to consider building that tower, and have questions about how it withstood the dragon’s breath.  Parenting philosophy aside, this looks like a cute book and kids are sure to like the illustrations and rhyming.

One last book that I’m loving lately (though we don’t own yet, hint hint grandmothers) is

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt

Image

A friend told me about this book and we bought it as a gift for another friend.  We have a book from the same illustrator, Oliver Jeffers, called Stuck, which we love.  In The Day the Crayons Quit, each of the crayon colors writes a letter to the child, explaining why they quit because they are either used too much (too many red firetrucks) or too little (poor white doesn’t get much time out of the box). It’s clever and one of those books that both kids and adults will have fun reading.

I’m really looking forward to some new books in our library.  It certainly makes the nap and bedtime routines more tolerable.  Are there any kids’ books you’d like to share?  What will you be getting your sweetie for Valentine’s Day? 

6 thoughts on “Valentines for Kids

  1. Great suggestions! I am out of the children’s book loop after “Good Night Moon”, “Tails” and things like “Where the Wild Things Are” this is a great push to get more information and find some fresh and fun titles.

  2. Hey, Rachel! We have Iggy Peck, Architect on our bookshelves. It’s great! And I once breathed over Philip Johnson’s shoulder at Texas A&M as he was talking about something or another, and I’m a fan of Frank Gehry’s work, so I will have to look into those little pigs. Thanks for the suggestions!

  3. Pingback: I heart Palm Springs | architecturebabble

Leave a Reply

