I heart Palm Springs

Guys, did you know that it’s Modernism Week in Palm Springs?  M O D E R N I S M !  P A L M  S P R I N G S ! !

From February 13-23 this year, Palm Springs is celebrating all things Modernist. I can’t tell you how much I want to be a part of this. Palm Springs is way WAY up there on my list of places to go.  Just look at the scenery:

Image

The Kauffman Desert House, by Richard Neutra [ image source ]

gas station

The Tramway Gas Station (now the Palm Springs Visitors Center), by Albert Frey and Robson Chambers

[ image source ]

Vista Las Palmas

A home in the Vista Las Palmas Neighborhood in Palm Springs

[ image source ]

It’s about this time every year I long for warmer weather and short sleeves.  Doesn’t this look like the perfect place to warm up in the winter?  I could totally be a snowbird here, friends.  Palm Springs has the largest concentration of mid-century design anywhere, all situated in the desert and hills of California, a little more than an hour and half southeast of Los Angeles.  Just about the best winter getaway I could ask for.

This map says it all:

Image

Map of Palm Springs by Nat Reed from the LA Times Blog [ image source ]

If I were still a kid, this would be my Disney World.  Modernism Week consists of walking tours, bus tours, lectures, parties and probably a lot of fun.  I’d check out works by John Lautner, Richard Neutra, Albert Frey and Donald Wexler, and I’d want to stay at the Saguaro Palm Springs:

Image

[ image source ]

saguaro-palm-springs-pool

[ image source ]

For more images, check out the Modernism Week Instagram feed here.  I know I plan to live vicariously through those photos.

+ Thank you all for your feedback on books for kids from this post: The books arrived a day after Valentines and the kids are shouting “Again, again” after reading the first book, so I’d say these are a success! +

Leave a Reply

